Top Five: Things About Christmas I Actually Like

25 12 2009

I’m not the biggest fan of Christmas, in fact I hate it. Yeah I know, bah humbug. Anyway, I can think of five things (just) that I actually like about the damned day.

1. Eating a Stupid Amount of Food is Encouraged

Like most people, I find eating to be one of life’s little pleasures, and during this time of year you’re encouraged to eat much more than usual, and I’m fine with that. Roast dinners, cheese, snacks aplenty, overly indulgent desserts, roast dinner leftovers, love it!

2. Drinking to Excess is Socially Acceptable

Well, even more so than usual. As a Scotsman, I am expected to drink solidly for well over a week from before Christmas to after Hogmanay, and I do my duty with a smile on my face. So in summation; I like beer.

3. TV

Okay, so this year isn’t a stellar one for Christmas TV, however as a rule it’s usually better than the rest of the year. This year’s highlights include the tenth Doctor’s final episodes, Total Wipeout celebrity specials (I like “celebrities” embarrassing themselves), and Top Gear tackling Bolivia’s el Camino de la Muerte, and of course the additional glut of movies.

4. Presents

I like stuff, therefore I like getting stuff for free. Giving stuff is also kind of cool.

5. Laziness is Expected

Hardly anybody has to work, the education system shuts down, you’re expected to nap after dinner, and nobody gives you grief for sleeping until the afternoon. Tis the season to be lazy.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

